Studies show that educational achievement gaps already exist at Kindergarten entry.  Children from low-income families are more likely to start school with limited language skills, health problems and social and emotional problems that interfere with learning.  The larger the gap at school entry, the harder it is to close.

Language proficiency is a key predictor of school success. Early literacy skills (size of vocabulary, recognizing letters, understanding letter and sound relationships) at kindergarten entry are good predictors of children's reading abilities throughout their educational careers. Language and literacy skills enable children to develop cognitive skills and knowledge and to interact effectively with peers and adults.

 








Arizona
Carol Kamin
Executive Director, Children's Action Alliance
602-266-0707
ckamin@azchildren.org

Dana Naimark
Deputy Director, Children's Action Alliance
602-266-0707
dnaimark@azchildren.org

Arkansas
Kathy Stegall
Program Coordinator, Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Education
501-682-4893
kathy.stegall@arkansas.gov

California
Patricia Skelton
Director of Research & Evaluation, First 5 California Children and Families Commission
916-324-7084
pskelton@ccfc.ca.gov

Colorado
Bruce Atchison
Executive Director, Colorado Children's Campaign
303-839-1580
bruce@coloradokids.org

Chris Watney
303-839-1580
chris@coloradokids.org

Connecticut
Sue Wilson
Director, Early Childhood DataCONNections
860-679-1524
swilson@uchc.edu

Kansas
Jim Redmon
Interim Executive Director, Children's Cabinet
and Trust Fund
785-368-7044
jrr@srskansas.org

Kentucky
Kim Townley, Ph.D.
Director, Division of Early Childhood
KY Department of Education
502-564-8341
ktownley@kde.state.ky.us

Maine
Jaci Holmes
Federal Liasion/Early Childhood Consultant
ME Department of Education
207-624-6669
jaci.holmes@state.me.us

Massachusetts
Phil Baimas
Director of Special Projects,
Office of Child Care Services
617-988-6600
phil.baimas@state.ma.us

Missouri
Doris Hallford
Deputy Director, MO Department of
Social Services, Children's Division
573-751-6793
doris.hallford@dss.mo.gov

New Hampshire
Ellen Shemitz
President, Children's Alliance
of New Hampshire
603-225-2264
eshemitz@childrennh.org

Celina Hurley
Program Associate, Children's Alliance
of New Hampshire
603-225-2264
churley@childrennh.org

New Jersey
Cecilia Zalkind
Executive Director, Association for Children
of New Jersey
973-643-3876
czalkind@acnj.org

Ohio
Sandra Miller
Director, Early Childhood Education
OH Department of Education
614-466-0224
sandy.miller@ode.state.oh.us

Rhode Island
Elizabeth Burke Bryant
Executive Director, Rhode Island KIDS COUNT
401-351-9400,ext.12
ebb@rikidscount.org

Vermont
Cheryl Mitchell
Research Professor
University of Vermont
802-656-8559
cheryl.mitchell@uvm.edu

Virginia
Suzanne Clark Johnson
President
Voices for Virginia's Children
804-649-0184, ext. 26
suzanne@vakids.org

Cynthia Jones
Policy Director for Early Childhood
Voices for Virginia's Children
804-649-0184
cynthia@vakids.org

Wisconsin
Martha Cranley
WisKids Count Coordinator, Wisconsin Council
on Children and Families
608-284-0580, ext. 321
mcranley@wccf.org




 

 

 

 

 


       

© 2005, School Readiness Indicators Initiative
One Union Station Providence, RI 02903 401.351.9400 fax 401.351.1758
If you have a question or comment about this website, please contact us.

The School Readiness Indicators Initiative is supported by the David and Lucile Packard Foundation, the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation and the Ford Foundation.
The 17-state initiative is managed by Rhode Island KIDS COUNT